Tags

, , , , , , , ,

9781409144724I’ve just finished reading Ian Rankin’s Standing In Another Man’s Grave, and I thoroughly enjoyed it, as always with Rankin’s books. I’m a long time fan of the Inspector Rebus series and was delighted when I read the character was being resurrected by Rankin. I think every fan must have felt the way I did when they got to the end of Exit Music and Rebus retired. Why?

Standing in Another Man’s Grave is a wonderful read, although it did feel different to the other Rebus books. Rebus is still retired, and I think Rankin has done a fine job with the retired cop versus the  Rebus of his previous novels. In this incarnation he appears a little more aware of the consequences of his actions on the people around him; a more pensive side to the man who normally lets nothing get in the way of his search for the truth; rules, regulations, etiquette, nothing. Maybe the Rebus of old, with all the rough edges and ‘Bull in a china shop’ way of dealing with things will return in Rankin’s next Rebus book, Saints Of The Shadow Bible, which sees him back on the force and working with his old nemesis Malcolm Fox, who was out for Rebus’s blood in Standing In Another Man’s Grave.

I loved everything about Standing In Another man’s Grave. Rebus was once again working with his old partner Siobhan Clarke, and Big Ger Cafferty made a couple of appearances. I read this book in a couple of days, and that’s only because I wanted to savour the return of Rebus.

I thoroughly recommend this book, a great read.

